The Reporter covers Miller, Morgan and Camden County in Central Missouri's Lake of the Ozarks and is published once per week on Wednesdays.


Published December 27, 2023

Two new State Troopers assigned to lake area

JEFFERSON CITY – The Lake Area will be seeing some new State Troopers thanks to 25 new Troopers that recently graduate from the Missouri State Highway Patrol’s Law Enforcement Academy.

Colonel Eric T. Olson, superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, announced that 25 troopers graduated from the Patrol’s Law Enforcement Academy last Friday (December 22)

The 118th Recruit Class reported to the Academy on July 3, 2023. The new troopers will report to duty in their assigned troops on January 8, 2024.

Four class awards were presented during the graduation ceremony. The recruits accumulate points toward graduation in the categories of physical fitness, firearms and academics throughout their 25 weeks at the Academy. The person with the highest number of points in each category will earn the respective award.

Troop F
Trooper Jonathan E. Pinker, of Overland Park, KS, has been assigned to Zone 11, which serves the citizens of Miller and Camden counties.

In 1993, Pinker graduated from Olathe South High School in Olathe, Kansas. In 1995, he graduated with an Associate of Arts degree in liberal arts from Johnson County Community College in Overland Park, Kansas.

In 1998, Pinker graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in economics from the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Trooper Ryan C. Byers, of Joplin, Missouri, has been assigned to Zone 6, which serves the citizens of Morgan and Moniteau counties.

In 2021, Byers graduated from Joplin High School in Joplin, Missouri. Byers currently serves as a specialist in the Army National Guard.

In addition, Troop F will have these two new officers. The names, hometowns and first assignments of members of the 118th Recruit Class are listed below:

Trooper Hunter W. Hampton, Fulton, MO, Cole County
Trooper Bailey D. Whetsel, Jones, OK, Cole County

The following is other Troopers assigned to other parts of the state.

Troop A
Trooper Klayton R. Kennedy, Plattsburg, MO, Platte County
Trooper Corey W. Klotz, Nevada, MO, Bates County
Trooper Connor W. Norris, Kearney, MO, Clay County

Troop B
Trooper Kristopher B. Geren, Fowler, IL, Marion/Ralls Counties
Trooper Tristen C. Miller, Shelby, MO, Linn/Chariton Counties

Troop C
Trooper Dalon J. Brown, Hazelwood, MO, North St. Louis County
Trooper Jackson S. Collier, Farmington, MO, Ste. Genevieve/Perry Counties
Trooper Brian J. Fessenden, Palmyra, MO, South St. Louis County
Trooper Justin D. Hedrick, St. Charles, MO, South St. Louis County
Trooper Dallas R. McKenzie, Quincy, IL, St. Charles County
Trooper Roan Oosthuizen, Grapevine, TX, St. Charles County
Trooper Edgar J. Raya, St. Louis, MO, South St. Louis County
Trooper Ethan G. Talleur, St. Clair, MO, Franklin County
Trooper Mason K. Wilson, Seneca, MO, St. Charles County

Troop E
Trooper Brady T. Hart, Puxico, MO, Butler/Ripley Counties
Trooper Gunner L.R. Meloy, Marble Hill, MO, Butler/Ripley Counties

Troop G
Trooper Chad K. Johnson, Seymour, MO, Texas/Wright Counties

Troop H
Trooper Robert K. Mott, Mt. Pulaski, IL, Holt/Atchison Counties

Troop I
Trooper Aaron M. Cunningham, Rolla, MO, Crawford County
Trooper Kolby J. Estes, Warsaw, MO, Phelps/Maries Counties
Trooper Dustin R. Willhite, Hartville, MO, Laclede County

All content is Copyright 2023 by Reporter Publishing, L.L.C. Unauthorized reproduction is prohibited without written permission.